Topics of Conversation




      Topics of Conversation
For readers of Rachel Cusk, Lydia Davis, and Jenny Offill a compact tour de force about sex, violence, and self loathing from a ferociously talented new voice in fiction Miranda Popkey s first novel is about desire, disgust, motherhood, loneliness, art, pain, feminism, anger, envy, guilt written in language that sizzles with intelligence and eroticism The novel is composed almost exclusively of conversations between women the stories they tell each other, and the stories they tell themselves, about shame and love, infidelity and self sabotage and careens through twenty years in the life of an unnamed narrator hungry for experience and bent on upending her life Edgy, wry, shot through with rage and despair, Topics of Conversation introduces an audacious and immensely gifted new novelist. New Download Books Topics of Conversation Author Miranda Popkey – bluevapours.co.uk

Is a well-known author, some of his books are a fascination for readers like in the Topics of Conversation book, this is one of the most wanted Miranda Popkey author readers around the world.


      Topics of Conversation
 By Miranda Popkey IBN : 0525656286 Format : Hardcover – bluevapours.co.uk
  • Hardcover
  • 224 pages
  • Topics of Conversation
  • Miranda Popkey
  • 04 August 2018
  • 0525656286

10 thoughts on “ Topics of Conversation

  1. Book of the Month says:

    Why I love itby Cristina ArreolaTopics of Conversation is my worst nightmare come true a book in which my darkest, most shameful, most secret thoughts are laid bare on the page The title of this brisk, slim novel hints at its atypical structure in lieu of a conventional plot, this novel takes us through twenty disparate years of the unnamed narrator s life.Each chapter of this debut is a different conversation taking place during the unnamed narrator s life, from college years to newlywed Why I love itby...

  2. Paris (parisperusing) says:

    There is, below the surface of every conversation in which intimacies are shared, an erotic current Sometimes this current is so hot it all but boils and other times it s barely lukewarm, hardly noticeable, but always the current is present, if only you plunge your hands in just an inch or two farther down in the water This is regardless of the gender of the people involved, of their sexual orientations This is the natural outcome of disclosure, for to disclose is to reveal, to bring out There is, below the surface of every conversation in which intimacies are shared, an erotic current Sometimes this current is so hot it all but boils and other times it s barely lukewarm, hardly noticeable, but always the current is present, if only you plunge your hands in just an inch or two farther down in the water This is regardless of t...

  3. The Nerd Daily says:

    Originally published on The Nerd Daily Review by Beth MowbrayReading the synopsis alone for Topics of Conversation evokes a powerful set of emotions Take a look Miranda Popkey writes of desire, disgust, motherhood, loneliness, art, pain, feminism, anger, envy, and guilt composed almost exclusively of conversations between women the stories they tell each other, and the stories they tell themselves, about shame and love, infidelity and self sabotage Stunning, right This novel opens with Originally published on The Nerd Daily Review by Beth MowbrayReading the synopsis alone for Topics of Conversation evokes a powerful set of emotions Take a look Miranda Popkey writes of desire, disgust, motherhood, loneliness, art, pain, feminism, anger, envy, and guilt composed almost exclusively of conversations between women the stories they tell each other, and the stories they tell themselves, about shame and love, infidelity and self sabotage Stunning, right This novel opens with an unnamed female narrator in Italy The year is 2000, she has just completed her undergraduate program in English and after the summer, she will begin a graduate program studying the same In the meantime, however, she enjoys reading the journals of Sylvia Plath and discussing affairs with older professors alongside the mother of the children she babysits If that doesn t set a mood, then what does Popkey s story then unfolds across two decades, each chapter a different time and place, a different...

  4. Fatma says:

    Thank you to Random House for providing me with an eARC of this via EdelweissTopics of Conversation is another in a string of books I ve come across lately that center on and explore what I m going to call the problematic woman The problematic woman is not problematic because she is Bad whatever that means but because she is full of problems or difficulties By problematic, here, I mean women who feel too much or too little, are too passive or too foolhardy, judge their decisions too Thank you to Random House for providing me with an eARC of this via EdelweissTopics of Conversation is another in a string of books I ve come across lately that center on and explore what I m going to call the problematic woman The problematic woman is not problematic because she is Bad whatever that means but because she is full of pro...

  5. Jonathan says:

    Remember the name Miranda Popkey right now Her debut book topics of conversation comes out in January and it is one you will not want to miss I was reminded of Sally Rooney and Melissa Broder but a littleintellectual and grown up Not taking away from either of those two women and their ability to write a great novel that I enjoy but Popkey is the real deal Smart, innovative, and brutally honest about tough subjects Mainly focused on the normalization of women s sexuality and how Remember the name Miranda Popkey right now Her debut book topics of conversation comes out in January and it is one you will not want to miss I was reminded of Sally Rooney and Melissa Broder but a littleintellectual and grown up Not taking away from either of those two women and their ability to write a great novel that I enjoy but Popkey is the real deal Smart, innovative, and brutally honest about tough subjects Mainly focused on the normalization of women s sexuality and how gender plays a roll in our society and how it dictates the way desi...

  6. Sarah says:

    Still going to re read this closer to publication, but I want to get some initial thoughts up before the year is out I can see this being one of the big reads of 2020 Miranda Popkey s novel stands up on its own merits, but for purposes of comparison I d agree with the Goodreads blurb which recommends it for readers of Rachel Cusk and Jenny Offill, though at times I was reminded of the clarity in Sally Rooney s writing as well The story follows an unnamed woman over the course of 15 years Still going to re read this closer to publication, but I want to get some initial thoughts up before the year is out I can see this being one of the big reads of 2020 Miranda Popkey s novel stands up on its own merits, but for purposes of comparison I d agree with the Goodreads blurb which recommends it for readers of Rachel Cusk and Jenny Offill, though at times I was reminded of the clarity in Sally Rooney s writing as well The story follows an unnamed woman over the course of 15 years through the various conversations she has with different women she encounters much like Cusk s Outline trilogy, these conversations range widely in content but each of them brings the reader somewhere closer to understanding the nature of humans and one s self, relationships, motherhood, shame and desire, and what it means to be a woman dealing ...

  7. Beth M. says:

    When I first read the synopsis for Topics of Conversation, it took me aback Miranda Popkey writes of desire, disgust, motherhood, loneliness, art, pain, feminism, anger, envy, and guilt composed almost exclusively of conversations between women the stories they tell each other, and the stories they tell themselves, about shame and love, infidelity and self sabotage Stunning right Reading this book was just the experience I hoped it would be Popkey s story unfolds across two When I first read the synopsis for Topics of Conversation, it took me aback Miranda Pop...

  8. Afton Montgomery says:

    This small but mighty debut from Miranda Popkey is told over the course of 20 years in the conversations that one unnamed narrator has Mostly, these are conversations amongst women a group of mothers in Fresnogetting wine drunk while their babies sleepin the next room,divulging how they wound up single and pregnant a family trip to Italy that falls into a sensual interaction between the narrator and her friend s mother a near evil back and forth between the narrator and a friend who treats This small but mighty debut from Miranda Popkey is told over the course of 20 years in the conversations that one unnamed narrator has Mostly, these are conversations amongst women a group of mothers in Fresno getting wine drunk while their babies sleep in the next room, divulging how they wound up sing...

  9. Roemer says:

    Ugh I so wanted to love this one And maybe it s just above me But I was truly bored to tears I made myself push through and finish since it s only 202 pages but ugh The writing especially in the first story was so hard to focus on as it was one long, backtr...

  10. Mickie says:

    Such a gorgeous book to lose yourself in reading this feels like putting yourself underwater and not wanting to come up for air, in a very good way The reflections on what women do and want and love, on what men do or can do to them, are deeply real and raw and you will never forget them.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *